Jade Parker’s Lead Me Astray EP comes with much anticipation and intrigue. ‘Closer’ introduces us the the chilled vibes, pulsating drums and beautiful vocals that really give this music producer her own space in time.

The music itself is really well produced with well balanced sounds and amazing detail in the textures that are spaced around the sonic stereo field. The drum sounds are really well polished giving a heart and soul to the music with out being over bearing to the vibe of the track. The interesting weave of melodic tones and moving textures hold the audience which leaving space for the rich vocal to cut through the mix, drift off with a subtle delay and leaves the listener wanting more.

This is a mesmerising track and a really nice way to be introduced to Jade Parker’s sounds if you haven’t already heard them. The rest of the EP is excellent.

The video adds another dimension to the track so its worth a watch!

Featured Video Play Icon

Forbidden Planet are a techno duo from Manchester. With a wealth of knowledge and technical ability, they have crafted this masterpiece of an album. The analogue soundscapes and driving beats mixed perfectly with ethereal vocals and floating pads.

Every track on this album is stand out, and yet pulls together to form an even stronger body of music. This is worth listening to from start to finish, over and over. Personal favourite tracks are “Ariel’s Dream (The Tempest)” and “That does not compute”. Two great contrasts on the album that weaves in and out of soundscapes and through ambient noise and in to beautifully polished laid back techno.

What a way to be introduced to an artist and group of talented musicians and producers. I have an affinity and weak point for music that has soul and feels organic. This ep, from first to last, is a beautiful blend of soulful vocals, soft sweeping pads, rounded bass and supremely crafted drums.This all pulls together to create a fantastic ep which starts with the title track, Golden Outline, a calm track with an underbelly of energy surrounded by catchy melodies and pristine vocals.

Happy People is more of a meandering journey in to the subconscious of these musicians, with a different, more bouncy feel that replicates the positive yet questioning lyrics in the vocal delivery.

The third track, Stamina, is my personal Mel favourite because of the difference in mood. It’s a little darker with some slightly more abstract sounds mixed with the glass type chords. I find this track hypnotic and I literally never wanted it to end. The space within the drinks of this track is really nicely accented with the perfect reverb, just the right tail length.

P & P happily brings us back up to the full pace dnb but yet retaining the spacious and uncluttered style that is now familiar from Vaiafi on this ep. The final track Night Cry Sky drops back into the super chilled broken beat influenced soundscape. The wonderful thing about this ep is how diverse each track is within the drum and bass genre, showing off the influences and open minded approach to composition, sound design and musical boundaries.

This ep is available from Atmomatix Records.

Find out more about Vaiafi on Facebook.

The latest track from electronic Med School band, “The Erised”, is a euphoric build up of promise that does not disappoint when the full power of this beautiful track lands on the ears.

The drums are punchy but not overwhelming, leaving space for the soft pads and soaring vocals to weave toward the listener. The energy produced as the track progresses is mirrored by the impressive vocals melodies that seem to get better and better with each listen.

There is a much more evolved production on this track from previous songs, and that is not a negative point at all, but an acknowledgement of the progression that this Ukrainian electronic band has achieved.

From the mind boggling and captivating artwork, to the interesting and attention holding arrangement, The Erised have yet again created a masterpiece of a piece of music. This track was also a finalist of the Ukrainian National Selection for Eurovision Song Contest 2018.